Editors Guild of India

Editors Guild of India

Code of Practice

A Code of Practice for journalists was adopted by the General Body of Editors Guild of India at a meeting held in New Delhi on August 30, 2002.

Statements Issued

View all the recent official statements issued by the Editors Guild of India.

RM Memorial Lecture

The annual lectures named after Rajendra Mathur, who brought about a mini-revolution in the world of Hindi journalism.

EGi Constitution

Rules and Regulations of the Editors Guild of India.

History of Indian Journalism

Journalism today, is perhaps one of the most celebrated and respected professions, but has its roots way back in circa 59 B.C, when news was recorded in a circular called the Acta Diurna in Rome.

Awards & Fellowships

Links and a short introduction to Awards & Fellowships offered from India and around the world.

Latest Statement

Septemeber 03, 2018

Editors Guild of India condemns a Myanmar court’s verdict that has sentenced two Reuters journalists to seven years in prison after pronouncing them guilty of having breached the country’s Official Secrets Act.

The Guild is opposed to the use of provisions under the Official Secrets Act in any country to throttle the voice of the media. The two Reuters journalists, Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo were investigating the death of 10 Rohingya Muslims.

The Guild believes that the arrest and imprisonment of journalists are a big blow to democracy and demands their release from jail at the earliest.


Shekhar Gupta


A K Bhattacharya


Sheela Bhatt


Contact Us

(011) 676-1440

B-62 Gulmohar Park, New Delhi - 110049